Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

About the Lab

Welcome to the BMO Financial Group Finance Research and Trading Lab (BMO FRT-Lab) at the Joseph L. Rotman School of Management. Our multi-function laboratory integrates theory and practice by providing a focal point for research and training in a range of financial disciplines including investment strategy and portfolio management, financial engineering and risk management, analyses of the microstructure of markets and trading, as well as other financial decision-making disciplines.

The Financial Research and Trading Lab (FRT-Lab) was founded by Professor Tom McCurdy, funded by a grant from the Ontario Research and Development Challenge Fund (ORDCF), and opened in 1999. In 2013, thanks to the financial support of the BMO Financial Group, the FRT-Lab was renamed the BMO Financial Group Finance Research and Trading Lab (BMO FRT-Lab) and moved to a new location in a newly renovated and larger space. This high-tech facility enables students, faculty, and staff to interact with the global financial community and its resources in a real-time setting.

The Lab has 71 stations with ultrawide monitors and two media/data walls. The stations provide access to our research data delivery portals and real-time market data and information feeds. Training is enhanced by providing access to worldwide information on fundamentals, research, news, and prices, as well as by using industry applications and custom simulation-based-learning applications. This allows students to practice implementing the material they are learning in the classroom. To access information on some of our current FRT-Lab resources, please visit this link.

The primary objective of the Lab is for participants to learn how to make good financial decisions in complex environments taking account of and managing uncertainty about the future. Our simulation-based-learning applications are designed to achieve this objective. For example, the RIT Market Simulator and associated RIT Decision Cases provide an opportunity for students to learn how to develop robust strategies that work well across a range of potential outcomes. Our learning-by-doing approach is a foundation for learning how to learn, which supports life-long learning and innovation. Tom McCurdy, Professor of Finance, Bonham Chair in International Finance, Lab Founder.

The Lab Mandate

The Lab Team​

Craig Geoffrey

Academic Director, Assistant Professor Teaching Stream in Finance

Bachir Chehab

Associate Director

Julie Beaulieu

Administrative and Development Coordinator

Oriana Rahman

Educational Developer

Sonya Ho

Project Coordinator

Lab Assistants

Aishwarya Gupta

Brandon Chen

Christina Lin

Dhairya Khara

Joyce Xue

Prithvi Thapar

Ruben Navasardyan

Shaswata Chowdhury

Simon Xin

Sophia Lou

Suki Wang

Amy Zhang

Edward Papiev

Izora Kayumova

Bonnie Ding

Estella Xu

Matthew DeMarinis

Lab Assistants Alumni

2023 – 2022

Amy Zhang

Aryan Goel 

Aviral Bhardwaj
Brandon Chen
Joyce Xue
Christina Lin
Crystal Zhang
Dhairya Khara
Suki Wang
Victor Xiao
Simon Xin
Prithvi Thapar
Ruben Navasardyan
Shaswata Chowdhury
Jeremy Jiang
Justin Xu
Sophia Lou

2022 – 2021

Cindy Li
Edward Shen
Emily Wen
Eric Zhang
Ivanna Lytovchenko
Jason Mao
Joey Poh
Joshua Hur
Kamil Mansoori
Lisa Wu
Petra Torovic
Shahriyar Habib
Sofija Kotarac

2021 – 2020

Anh Nguyen
Jenny Zhang
Cheryl Zhang
Mike Hambardzumyan
Janki Shah
Angela Fu
William Rodgers
Christopher Lor
Ralph Kerrebijn
Danny Huh

2020 – 2019

Judson Asiruwa
Jack Chen
Chelsea Chen
Rebecca Kay
Jinhyung Kwon
Mary Li
Jacky Liu
Saarah Sheikh
Tony Tsai
Milliene Xu
Diana Zhang

2019 – 2018

Billy Sun
Zena Xing

2018 -2017

Mansour Dia
Cavelle Van Nest
Annie Sun
Jessica Leung
Tianquan Wang
Tony Ye

2017 – 2016

Sergey Sapel’Nyk
Laura Murphy
Amanda Wildi
Filip Pejic
Tony Guo
Edward Xiao
Crystal Lou
Iven Poon

2016 – 2015

Tony Ding
Paige Franzoi
Michael Mazza
Jeremy Chiu
Roman Bohulevych
Linpan Li
Steven He

2015 – 2014

Annie Du
Catherine Qian
Esther Li
Janice Cha
Kirtpal Khattra
Rae Kim

2014 – 2013

Vincent Wang
Megan Jiang
Radhika Karker
Wallace Chau
Dottie Omino
Charles Liu
David Allen

2013 – 2012

Nina Baktina
Carrie Guo
Olivia Li
Richard Li
Ruijiang Ma
Violeta Peczulis
Matthew Tang

2012 – 2011

Brittney Franzoi
Steve El-Hage
Kiana Xu
Tony Chuang
Dawoon Chung
Junwei Huo

2011 – 2010

Richard Gao
Jasper Chan
Angel Liang
Tian Shen
Kimberley Ling
Jack Zhu
Mamoun Toukan
Aaron Ma
Richard Li
Winter Li
Sherry Xu

2010 – 2009

Paul Xing
Gary Liang
Eric Tsui
Michael Gorev
Evan Koetsenruijter
Shabnam Mohsenzadeh
Salman Razzak
Eric Chiu
Han Lin

2009 – 2008

William Ma
Jesse Chen
Chelsey Tam

2008 – 2007

Dmitri Izmailov
Yiyi Yang
Emily Shi
Ali Akber Kanchwala
Armana Hossain
Min Teo

2007 – 2006

Henry Zhang
Bryce Cheung
Mazen Issa
Diana Potapenko
Haswin Utomo

2006 – 2005

Ian Kim
Babak Golpayegani
Klara Gotz
Li Dai
Calvin Liang
Yanrong Cao

2005 – 2004

Huan Liu
Jing Feng
David Dai
Sophia Zhang
Annie Theriault
Bill Bobey

2004 – 2003

Nick Lee
Charles Williams
Mike Larkin

2003 – 2002

Collin Chu
Mavis Chen